Our History

Lutheran Schooling is Australia Wide:

Lutheran schools and early years centres are located in every state and territory of Australia except the ACT. All these schools and early years centres are owned by the Lutheran church and are incorporated into a system with support structures at national and regional levels.

The Lutheran church also has its own tertiary institution, Australian Lutheran College, which provides special training for Lutheran teachers in order to promote a distinctive ethos in its schools and early years centres.

The seeds of the first formal Government schools in South Australia had their early beginnings around 1838. The Lutheran school in Hahndorf began in 1839.

In many ways that school, St Michael’s Lutheran School, reflects the early history of Lutheran learning communities in SA. It was commenced to support the community of migrants from Germany that had fled religious persecution and settled in areas such as Klemzig, the Adelaide Hills and the Barossa Valley. These were schools birthed to support the children of their community and their parents who expected high standards of learning. That absolute commitment to community and learning remains today.

However, the Lutheran schools were not just for ‘their own’. On the banks of the River Torrens at a place known as Pirltawardli (previously often referred to as PiltaWodli), the Dresden Missionaries as they are sometimes referred to, established a school in 1838 for Kaurna children who were living in that area. This school is arguably the oldest school in SA. Today it is recognised that those German missionaries were quite radical for the times. They learnt, spoke, taught-in and recorded the Kaurna language – and spoke highly of the knowledge and skills of the children. Again, in many ways the values established on the banks of the Torrens have shaped the 182 years of teaching and learning tradition since.

These Lutheran schools were being established and building their reputation from the very beginnings of the state of SA. Since then, Lutheran schooling has spread with learning communities being established across Australia. Lutheran Education SA, NT & WA (LESNW) represents some 42 Co-educational Schools, Early Learning Centres, Kindergartens and Child Care Centres. See ‘Our Learning Communities’ for more information.

Our History

1839 LESNW History
St Michael’s Lutheran School

Hahndorf, SA

1842 LESNW History
Lobethal Lutheran School

Lobethal, SA

1845 LESNW History
Faith Lutheran College

Tanunda, SA

1846 LESNW History
Redeemer Lutheran School

 Nuriootpa, SA

1862 LESNW History
St Jakobi Lyndoch Lutheran School

Lyndoch, SA

1890 LESNW History
Concordia College

Highgate, SA

1895 LESNW History
Immanuel College

Novar Gardens, SA

1904 LESNW History
St John’s Lutheran School

Eudunda, SA 

1947 LESNW History
Loxton Lutheran School

Loxton, SA 

1952 LESNW History
Concordia College – St John’s Campus

Highgate, SA

1962 LESNW History
Good Shepherd Lutheran School

Angaston, SA 

1963 LESNW History
St Martins Pre School Kindergarten

Mt Gambier, SA

1966 LESNW History
Maitland Lutheran School

Maitland, SA

1970 LESNW History
Immanuel Primary School

Novar Gardens, SA

1973 LESNW History
St Paul Lutheran School

Blair Athol, SA

1973 LESNW History
Yirara College

 Alice Springs, NT

1974 LESNW History
Foundations for Life Early Learning

Nightcliff, NT

1975 LESNW History
Concordia Pre School Kindergarten

Murray Bridge, SA

1975 LESNW History
Salisbury Lutheran Kindergarten

 Salisbury, SA

1976 LESNW History
Calvary Kindergarten

Morphett Vale, SA

1978 LESNW History
Zion Presschool Centre

Gawler, SA

1978 LESNW History
Unity College

Murray Bridge, SA

1979 LESNW History
Waikerie Lutheran Primary School

Waikerie, SA

1981 LESNW History
Good Shepherd Lutheran School

Para Vista, SA

1982 LESNW History
St Mark’s Lutheran School

 Mt Barker, SA

1982 LESNW History
St Martins Lutheran College

Mt Gambier,SA

1983 LESNW History
Good Shepherd Lutheran College

After Leanyer, NT

1983 LESNW History
Calvary Lutheran Primary School

Morphett Vale, SA

1983 LESNW History
Crossways Lutheran School

Ceduna, SA

1985 LESNW History
Immanuel Lutheran School

Gawler, SA

1985 LESNW History
Faith Lutheran College ,Faith Campus

Tanunda, SA

1986 LESNW History
Our Saviour Lutheran School

 Aberfoyle Park, SA

1987 LESNW History
Living Waters Lutheran School

Alice Springs, NT

1988 LESNW History
Golden Grove Lutheran Primary School

 Wynn Vale, SA

1990 LESNW History
Cornerstone College

 Mount Barker, SA 

1995 LESNW History
Tatachilla Lutheran College

McLaren Vale, SA

1997 LESNW History
Endeavour College

 Mawson Lakes, SA

1997 LESNW History
Living Waters Lutheran College

Warnbro, WA

1998 LESNW History
Good Shepherd Lutheran College

Para Vista, SA

1999 LESNW History
St Peters Lutheran School

Blackwood, SA

2001 LESNW History
Vineyard Lutheran School

Clare, SA

2001 LESNW History
Encounter Lutheran College

Victor Harbor, SA

2008 LESNW History
Good Shepherd Lutheran College

Howard Springs, NT 

2009 LESNW History
Southern Barossa Community Child Care

 Lyndoch, SA

2009 LESNW History
Navigator College

Port Lincoln, SA

2011 LESNW History
Open Arms Community Child Care Centre

 Birdwood, SA

Scroll to Top